20% Project Excitement is Building

Today I did a very brief check in with the students to see how they were doing after yesterday’s introduction to the project.  The excitement is definitely building, which I am really pleased to see.  I will admit to being a bit worried after yesterday’s introduction.  I asked if there were any questions that came to mind after they had some time to process and time to do a little more digging into what the project is all about.  There were just a couple of clarification questions…one was why are we presenting to the eighth graders from PMS? So I had to explain that they would be coming to our school and also presenting their very own projects and their parents will be coming to see them…kinda like a special Open House evening and that we are going to be looking in to food trucks to raise a little money.  Now that I think about it, nobody asked what we would put the money towards.  I am sure that question will arise and we will decide what to do with it together. 🙂  Anyway, after our very brief three minute chat, the kids showed me their feelings through their thumbs and lots were high in the air with enthusiasm.  Still a few iffy thumbs, but they are becoming more positive and some were even diagonal between “not sure yet” and “great”.  A good sign!

As tomorrow is the day they are going to have some time to work on their project plan and I am going to share the weeks ahead with them and the times they will have to work, I also asked how many of them were pretty confident in their idea.  I think all of them but two raised their hands, so I take that as a fabulous sign.

In addition to answering questions during class I had two students communicate with me one-on-one.  A student who was absent yesterday and missed the introduction took it upon himself, after his mum shared my email with him, to check out what this project was all about.  He came to me with his idea, concerned that the amount of time we have left this year would not be sufficient for him to reach his end goal.  So I asked him to think about what he would like to accomplish and see if there was a mid-point that he could potentially reach.  I also explained to him that he might not reach that mid-point goal, but that it was totally OK.  He seemed to like this idea and hopefully is thinking it through tonight so he has a good idea for tomorrow.  He wants to study the electronic pulses in the brain and how they can be controlled…I am sure I will understand more about that tomorrow after I see and hear about his plan.  I confess to it being a little “Greek” to me when he first shared it with me. 🙂

The other student emailed me asking to make my Haiku page public.  They know I have one as I shared a video from it and that the documents they will be utilizing are stored there.  I am going to make it public tomorrow after I have had a chance to explain about the other videos on there and that I don’t want them watching them.  I have an assignment in class to do with those videos.  They can watch them as much as they want after I introduce them.  Anyway…she wanted to know if she could learn how to train for a marathon.  Very cool!  The students are all so very different; it is going to be an amazing variety of ideas.

We shall see what tomorrow brings! 🙂  Until then…

Leave a Reply

